Blog Archives

Daryl Beggs

Daryl Beggs Cardiff University Welsh Crucible 2017 Daryl is a Lecturer in the School of Physics & Astronomy at Cardiff University. His research is focused on using compound semiconductors in the fabrication of photonic integrated circuits – man-made structures that can control light (or photons) on semiconductor chips in similar ways to how integrated electronic

Continue Reading →

Huw Morgan

Huw Morgan Aberystwyth University Welsh Crucible 2016 Huw Morgan is a Reader within the Solar System Physics group at Aberystwyth University. Currently a Leverhulme Research Fellow, he is a leading figure in the field of image processing and data analysis method development for solar coronal observations. He received his PhD in Solar Physics from the

Continue Reading →

Sam Ladak

Sam Ladak Cardiff University Welsh Crucible 2014 Sam Ladak completed his Physics undergraduate degree and PhD at the University of Exeter. After this he carried out a year in industry working at Seagate Technology designing magnetic sensors, before working as a postdoctoral researcher at The University of York and Imperial College. Recently, Sam has been

Continue Reading →

Sophie Schirmer

Sophie Schirmer Swansea University Welsh Crucible 2013 Sophie graduated from the University of Oregon with a PhD in Mathematics in 2000. After a short stint at the Open University, she joined the University of Cambridge as a Cambridge-MIT fellow in 2002. In 2006 she was awarded an EPSRC Advanced Research Fellowship, and in 2011 she

Continue Reading →

Daniel Burgarth

Daniel Burgarth Aberystwyth University Welsh Crucible 2013 Daniel graduated with a degree in Physics from the University of Freiburg, Germany, in 2004. His PhD research at University College London until 2007 explored aspects of quantum state transfer in one-dimensional spin systems. He then moved as a post-doc and Junior Research Fellow to the ETH Zurich

Continue Reading →

Niels Madsen

Niels Madsen Swansea University Welsh Crucible 2012 Niels is a Reader in experimental physics at Swansea University. His main research interest is fundamental studies of antihydrogen, which he has worked on since 2001. In 2002 he was part of the team that produced the first low energy antihydrogen. He is now group leader in the

Continue Reading →
The awards logo